Town Council Elections

Election of all five Town Council members, and the Clerk-Treasurer are held every four years. Primary elections are held in May and the General election is held in November. The next municipal general election year will be Tuesday November 5, 2019. Primary election is Tuesday May 7, 2019.  For more information concerning state elections and candidate information, please visit the Indiana Secretary of State - Election Division - Candidate Information

The governing body of the Town of Munster is a five-member Town Council elected for a four-year term. The Town is divided into five districts and each Council member resides in a different district, but is elected at large to ensure that the whole community is served and not just a series of neighborhoods competing against each other for services. Any resident can contact any or all of their council members for assistance. The council annually elects one of its members as President.

The Council employs a Town Manager, approves an annual budget, authorizes expenditures, and appoints members of the following Boards and Commissions, and Committees:

  • Park Board
  • Economic Development Commission
  • Board of Safety
  • Nominating Committee
  • Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA)
  • Munster Cable Advisory Board (MUNCAB)
  • Plan Commission

Three members of the Town Council serve as full members of the Plan Commission. The President of the Council serves as the President of the Police Pension Board. Two members serve as full members of the Lake County Solid Waste Management District Board. One of the Council members serves on the Community Hospital Board and on NIRPC.

In addition each member is assigned as liaison to two or more Boards, Commissions and Committees. It is not unusual for a council member to attend meetings several nights a week for the Town. They also attend many community and regional activities as representatives of the Town.

The Council has the power to make and establish Ordinances and regulations not in conflict with the laws of the State of Indiana or the Federal government.

Some of the Council's goals include:

  • To insure prudent use of the taxpayer's dollars;
  • To provide effective management of the legislative and administrative structure and programs necessary to deliver Town services;
  • To maintain and enhance the public's investment in capital facilities and equipment required for delivery of Town services;
  • To encourage, assist and sustain well-planned residential, commercial and industrial growth;
  • To sustain and expand cooperative efforts with neighboring communities, governmental agencies and other groups to accomplish mutual goals; and,
  • To maintain good communications with the citizens of Munster and sustain "Quality of Life" programs within the Town.


Contact Us

1005 Ridge Road
Munster, IN 46321
Get Directions

  • Phone: 219-836-6900
  • Staff Directory

Stay Connected: