TOWN OF MUNSTER MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION JANUARY 8, 2024

A meeting of the Munster Redevelopment Commission convened at 7:52 p.m. on Monday, January 8, 2024. Ordinance 1830 is the basis for holding electronic meetings. The announced meeting location was Munster Town Hall. Councilors, Staff, and the public had the option to participate via Zoom meeting technology.

Commissioners Chuck Gardiner, Joseph G. Hofferth, David B. Nellans, Jonathan Petersen, George Shinkan, and School Town of Munster Representative John Castro were physically present in Town Hall. Also present in Town Hall were Treasurer Wendy Mis, Controller Patricia Abbott, Town Manager Dustin Anderson, Director of Operations Jill DiTomasso, Police Chief Steve Scheckel, Fire Chief Mark Hajduk, Attorney David W. Westland, Superintendent of Operations Chris Spolnik, and Munster Representative to the Hammond Sanitary District Mike Hawkins. The news media were not represented.

Treasurer Mis presided over the meeting until the redevelopment commissioners selected officers. The members of the Munster Redevelopment Commission were appointed earlier this evening by the Town Council and Town Council President for one-year terms ending December 31, 2024.

Treasurer Mis opened the floor to nominations for the office of President of the Munster Redevelopment Commission for the year 2024. Commissioner Gardiner nominated Commissioner Nellans. The nomination was seconded by Commissioner Shinkan. Commissioner Nellans accepted the nomination. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Mis declared nominations closed. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. The motion carried.

Treasurer Mis then opened the floor to nominations for the office of Vice President of the Munster Redevelopment Commission for the year 2024. Commissioner Gardiner nominated Commissioner Shinkan. The nomination was seconded by Commissioner Hofferth. Commissioner Shinkan accepted the nomination. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Mis declared nominations closed. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. The motion carried.

Treasurer Mis then relinquished the gavel to President Nellans who presided for the remainder of the meeting.

President Nellans then opened the floor to nominations for the office of Secretary of the Munster Redevelopment Commission for the year 2024. Commissioner Gardiner nominated Commissioner Petersen. The nomination was seconded by Commissioner Shinkan. Commissioner Petersen accepted the nomination. There being no further nominations, President Nellans declared nominations closed. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. The motion carried.

Commissioner Gardiner nominated Treasurer Wendy Mis for the position of Executive Secretary. The appointment was seconded by Commissioner Shinkan. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. The motion carried. Treasurer Mis accepted the appointment. State law has the effect of causing Mrs. Mis to also serve as Treasurer of the Munster Redevelopment Commission (IC 36-7-14-8).

Commissioner Gardiner nominated Dave Westland for the position of Attorney. The appointment was seconded by Commissioner Shinkan. Motion carried *viva voce*. Mr. Westland accepted the appointment.

PUBLIC COMMENT

The Town of Munster accepts public comments submitted electronically. The public was informed, via the agenda posted at munster.org, that questions or comments about an item on the agenda were to be emailed to danderson@munster.org.

No one rose to claim the floor.

CONSENT AGENDA

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of the regular meeting on December 18, 2023

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE VOUCHER REGISTERS

Confirmation of Voucher Register #R23-11F dated 11/30/23 totaling \$4,400.00 Approval of Voucher Register #R23-11G dated 11/30/23 totaling \$89,500.78 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R23-12H dated 12/29/23 totaling \$5,064.27

Commissioner Gardiner moved, with a second by Commissioner Shinkan, to suspend the rules, waive the readings, and adopt the Consent Agenda as presented. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

Shinkan seconded by Commissioner Hofferth, the me	peting adjourned at 7:58 p.m.
ATTEST:	David B. Nellans, President
Wendy Mis, Executive Secretary	