To:	President and Members of the Munster Town Council
From:	Wendy Mis, Clerk-Treasurer
Copy to:	Dustin C. Anderson, Town Manager
Date:	November 23, 2022
Re:	Reorganization of Town Council, Redevelopment Commission, and Appointments to Boards and Commissions for 2023

As we approach the end of the year, the Town Council should consider making appointments or reappointments for positions that will expire December 31, 2022, and January 31, 2023. Individuals with expiring terms were contacted. Most expressed a desire to continue serving on their appointed board. Dave Cerven (Park Board) has declined to be reappointed.

To guide the members of the Town Council during consideration of new or renewed appointments, the following is a recital of each incumbent whose term will soon expire.

Town Council:

The Town Council President and Vice-President terms expire December 31, 2022. Last year, the council considered and took action on these positions at the final council meeting of 2021 (12/20/21)

Redevelopment Commission:

Appointment to the Redevelopment Commission is a one-year term which will end December 31, 2022. The Town Council President, by his/her order, appoints three members to the Commission, and the Town Council, acting as a whole, appoints two members to the Commission.

Historically, the five members of the Town Council are the five members of the Redevelopment Commission.

Plan Commission:

The term of Roland Raffin (D) will expire December 31, 2022. Mr. Raffin was appointed to the Plan Commission on March 12, 2007. Mr. Raffin was appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals by the Plan Commission on March 8, 2022.

The term of William Baker (R) will expire December 31, 2022. Mr. Baker was appointed to the Plan Commission on January 15, 2007.

Per review with legal counsel and to comply with IC 36-7-4-218(b) the term of Brian Specht should expire on 12/31/2023.

Of the four civilian members of the Plan Commission, no more than two may be from the same political party. Members are appointed to serve four-year terms.

Board of Zoning Appeals:

The term of Sharon Mayer will expire December 31, 2022. She was appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals on October 23, 2000.

The term of Roland Raffin will expire December 31, 2022. Mr. Raffin holds a position on the BZA as a member of the Plan Commission appointed by the Plan Commission. Mr. Raffin was reappointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals on March 8, 2022, and was appointed to the Plan Commission by the Town Council as a whole on March 12, 2007.

As a quasi-judicial body, the BZA is not required to be politically balanced. Members serve four-year terms.

Board of Safety:

The three-year term of Loren Brown (R) will expire on December 31, 2022. Dr. Brown was appointed to the Board of Safety on May 10, 2010.

The Board of Safety must be politically balanced, meaning that no more than three of the five members may be of the same political affiliation. There are now two Republicans and three Democrats on the Board of Safety. Members serve three-year terms.

Park Board:

The term of David Cerven (R) will expire on December 31, 2022. Mr. Cerven was initially appointed on January 28, 1991. Mr. Cerven has shared is intention to retire from the Park Board after 31 years of service.

The Park Board must be politically balanced, meaning that no more than two of the four members may be of the same political party; the fifth member is the nominee of the School Board and political affiliation is not a concern.

There are now two Republicans and two Democrats on the Park Board. Members serve four-year terms.

Economic Development Commission:

The term of Mohammad Saleem will expire on January 31, 2023. Mr. Saleem was nominated by the Town Council and appointed by the Town Council President on July 15, 2019.

The term of Richard Paulson will expire January 31, 2023. Mr. Paulsen was appointed by the Town Council President on August 21, 2017, to term that expired on January 31, 2020. Mr. Paulson was reappointed to a three-year term on January 13, 2020.

The third member of Economic Development Commission, George Shinkan, was appointed by the County Council on July 12, 2022. His term will expire January 31, 2023.

To comply with Indiana Code IC 36-7-12, The town executive should make one selection for three-year appointment. This term will expire on January 31, 2026. The town fiscal body should nominate one commission member to be appointed by the town executive to a two-year term to expire on January 31, 2025. The county fiscal body (Lake County Council) of the county the town is located runs upon their appointment for a period of one year beginning on February 1.

RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee:

On December 21, 2020, the Town Council President appointed Lee Ann Mellon as Munster's representative to the RDA Steering Committee. Each appointment is for a one-year term. Her current term expires December 31, 2022.

Hammond Sanitary District:

No action needed, on October 27, 2016, the Town Council President appointed **Michael Hawkins** as Munster's representative to the Hammond Sanitary District. Each appointment is for a four-year term. His current term expires December 31, 2024.

Other appointments:

The Town Council President will name liaisons to the various boards and commissions and make appointments as deemed necessary. By statute, the Town Council President is also the Police Pension Board President, with a president *pro tempore* elected by the Board. These positions are recited for the record as "portfolio assignments."

UPCOMING ACTION:

December 5 Council Meeting

Council should consider if current members of the Plan Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals and Board of Safety, and Executive Development Commission are to be re-appointed or if members who wish to return have to re-apply.

If opening exist on these boards, then council should consider if council will be interviewing applicants or if the nominating committee will be asked to review and interview applicants.

At the minimum, there will be an opening on the Park Board.

December 21 Council Meeting

It is recommended to reorganize the 2023 Town Council by opening the floor to nominations for Town Council President to be effective January 1, 2023.

It is recommended to reorganize the 2023 Town Council by opening the floor to nominations for Town Council Vice-President to be effective January 1, 2023.

It is recommended the Town Council President appoints three Town Councilors to the 2023 Redevelopment Commission. The remaining two members will be accepted from nominations from the current Town Council.

It is recommended to reorganize the 2023 Redevelopment Commission by opening the floor to nominations for Redevelopment Commission President to be effective January 1, 2023.

It is recommended to reorganize the 2023 Redevelopment Commission by opening the floor to nominations for Redevelopment Commission Vice-President to be effective January 1, 2023.

It is recommended an appointment to the RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee is made to be effective January 1, 2023

Additional Board and Commission appointments as well as Council portfolio assignments will be made at the December or January regularly scheduled Town Council meeting.