## Proclamation of the Munster Town Council

## A PROCLAMATION CONGRATULATING THE MUNSTER HIGH SCHOOL SPEECH AND DEBATE TEAM ON WINNING THE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.

**WHEREAS**, The School Town of Munster has been successful in challenging all Munster students to excel in academics and in a variety of extracurricular activities; and,

**WHEREAS,** Munster Speech and Debate was founded by Helen Engstrom in 1965. Helen Engstrom, Don Fortner, and Jordan Mayer are all members of the Indiana Hall of Fame. Helen Engstrom is a member of the National Hall of Fame; and,

**WHEREAS,** Munster High School has won its 12th consecutive state title and Munster High School's 21<sup>st</sup> title since 1965; and,

WHEREAS, Munster Speech looks forward to competing at the 2022 National Tournament in Louisville, Kentucky.; and,

WHEREAS, The team competed in the Indiana Schools Speech and Debate Association State Speech Tournament on March 12, at Fishers HS with the assistance from Director of Speech and Debate Jordan Mayer and assistant coaches Kathleen Boyle, Benjamin Boruff, Helen Engstrom, Don Fortner, Helena Jancosek, Kenn O'Drobinak, and Jaime Shapiro; and,

**WHEREAS**, The team is comprised of the following members: Sarah Banaszek, Mateo Bedolla, Michael Casner, Delaney Craig, Trent Davis, Robyn Dejoan, Julianna Dodge, Jordan Fefferman, James Ferguson, Tara Gaither, Claire Han, Grace Harris, Kameryn Hubbard, Charles Iverson, Charlie Mason, Anthony Ornelas, Alicia Powell, Anna Raycroft, Gabriela Ruiz. Clover Sarkady, Katherine Sheehan, Annabelle Spicer, Emily Sun, Myanne Zachary ; and,

**WHEREAS**, The Munster High School Speech Team was named the 2022 Class 2A and Ralph Lawson Award Winner, the overall State Champion; and,

**WHEREAS**, This year's championship is the Munster High School's 12<sup>th</sup> consecutive state title and the 21<sup>st</sup> state title since 1965; now, therefore, be it

**PROCLAIMED** by the Munster Town Council that all members of the Munster High School Speech Team are hereby honored and congratulated on winning the State Championship and moving on to the National Tournament in Louisville, Kentucky in June; and be it further

**PASSED & ADOPTED** this 4<sup>th</sup> day of April 2022 by a vote of \_\_\_\_ in favor and \_\_\_\_opposed.

## TOWN COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF MUNSTER, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA

Chuck Gardiner Council President

ATTEST:

Wendy Mis Clerk-Treasurer