To: President and Members of the Munster Town Council

From: Wendy Mis, Clerk-Treasurer

Copy to: Dustin C. Anderson, Town Manager

Date: December 20, 2021

Re: Reorganization of Town Council, Redevelopment Commission, and

Appointments to Boards and Commissions for 2022

As we approach the end of the year, the Town Council should consider making appointments or reappointments for positions that will expire December 31, 2021. All individuals with expiring terms were contacted and each expressed a desire to continue serving on their appointed board except for Daniel Repay, who did not respond to the email.

To guide the members of the Town Council during consideration of new or renewed appointments, the following is a recital of each incumbent whose term will soon expire.

Town Council: The Town Council President and Vice-President terms expire December 31, 2021.

Redevelopment Commission: Appointment to the Redevelopment Commission is a one-year term which will end December 31, 2021. The Town Council President, by his/her order, appoints three members to the Commission, and the Town Council, acting as a whole, appoints two members to the Commission. Historically, the five members of the Town Council are the five members of the Redevelopment Commission.

Plan Commission: No action needed.

Board of Zoning Appeals: The term of **Jonathan Petersen** (R) will expire December 31, 2021. He was appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals on December 30, 2013. The term of **Roland Raffin** will expire December 31, 2021. Mr. Raffin holds a position on the BZA as a member of the Plan Commission appointed by the Town Council. Mr. Raffin was appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals on August 20, 2018, to complete the term of Michael Mellon upon his resignation and was appointed to the Plan Commission by the Town Council as a whole on March 12, 2007. As a quasi-judicial body, the BZA is not required to be politically balanced. Members serve four-year terms.

Board of Safety: The three-year term of **Jerome Baffa** (R) will expire at the end of 2021. Mr. Baffa was appointed to the Board of Safety on February 10, 2003. The term of **Robert Dershewitz** (D) will expire at the end of 2020. Dr. Dershewitz was appointed on July 17, 2020, to complete the term of Robert Ellis who relocated from the area. The Board of Safety must be politically balanced, meaning that no more than three of the five members may be of the same political affiliation. There are now three Republicans and two Democrats on the Board of Safety. Members serve three-year terms.

Park Board: The term of **Daniel Repay** (D) will expire on December 31, 2021. Mr. Repay was initially appointed on February 10, 2021. The Park Board must be politically balanced, meaning that no more than two of the four members may be of the same political party; the fifth member is the nominee of the School Board and political affiliation is not a concern. There are now two Republicans and two Democrats on the Park Board. Members serve four-year terms.

Economic Development Commission: A vacancy on the EDC was created when David R. Schneider resigned to relocate to another state. The Lake County Council has been requested to nominate a replacement for Mr. Schneider. Upon receipt of the nomination, the Munster Town Council President, if he/she agrees with the nomination, will make an appointment to fill the unexpired portion of Mr. Schneider's term which would otherwise expire January 31, 2022.

RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee: On December 21, 2020, the Town Council President appointed **Lee Ann Mellon** as Munster's representative to the RDA Steering Committee. Each appointment is for a one-year term. Her current term expires December 31, 2021.

Hammond Sanitary District: No action needed, on October 27, 2016, the Town Council President appointed **Michael Hawkins** as Munster's representative to the Hammond Sanitary District. Each appointment is for a four-year term. His current term expires December 31, 2024.

Other appointments: The Town Council President will name liaisons to the various boards and commissions and make appointments as deemed necessary. By statute, the Town Council President is also the Police Pension Board President, with a president *pro tempore* elected by the Board. These positions are recited for the record as "portfolio assignments."

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

It is recommended to reorganize the 2022 Town Council by opening the floor to nominations for Town Council President to be effective January 1, 2022.

It is recommended to reorganize the 2022 Town Council by opening the floor to nominations for Town Council Vice-President to be effective January 1, 2022.

It is recommended the Town Council President appoints three Town Councilors to the 2022 Redevelopment Commission. The remaining two members will be accepted from nominations from the current Town Council.

It is recommended to reorganize the 2022 Redevelopment Commission by opening the floor to nominations for Redevelopment Commission President to be effective January 1, 2022. It is recommended to reorganize the 2022 Redevelopment Commission by opening the floor to nominations for Redevelopment Commission Vice-President to be effective January 1, 2022.

It is recommended an appointment to the RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee is made to be effective January 1, 2022.

Additional Board and Commission appointments as well as Council portfolio assignments will be made at the January 17, 2022, regularly scheduled Town Council meeting.