

October 9, 2020

Mr. Dustin Anderson Town Manager Town of Munster 1005 Ridge Rd. Munster, IN 46321

Dear Mr. Anderson,

As you may be aware, in the 2017 session of the Indiana General Assembly, the legislature instructed the Northwest Indiana Regional Development Authority (RDA) to partner with local communities to establish Transit Development Districts (TDDs) around South Shore stations on the existing South Shore line, and around proposed station locations on the West Lake Corridor. This collaborative initiative reflects the unprecedented opportunity for economic growth presented by the planned upgrade and expansion of commuter rail service, with more than \$2 billion in new development projected to occur over the next 20 years. The legislation required the creation of the RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee (Steering Committee), which was established in 2018 with representatives from nine communities across northern Indiana.

Per IC 36-7.5-4.5(19), the Steering Committee is comprised of one (1) individual appointed by the executive of each municipality (either mayor or town council president) in which a district could be established. A member is appointed for a one-year term that ends on December 31. A member may serve additional terms but needs to be reappointed each year. The appointing executive may replace a member at the executive's discretion.

We request that you forward to us your 2020 appointment for the Steering Committee no later than **December 31, 2020** to Sherri Ziller, RDA Chief Operating Officer, <u>sziller@rda.in.gov</u>. If you have any questions regarding the Steering Committee or the TDDs, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

D Hama

Bill Hanna President and CEO Northwest Indiana Regional Development Authority