TOWN OF MUNSTER MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION MAY 9, 2024

A meeting of the Munster Redevelopment Commission convened at 7:59 p.m. on Thursday, May 9, 2024. Ordinance 1830 is the basis for holding electronic meetings. The announced meeting location was Munster Town Hall. Councilors, Staff, and the public had the option to participate via Zoom meeting technology.

Commissioners George Shinkan, Joseph G. Hofferth, Chuck Gardiner, Jonathan Petersen, and David B. Nellans were physically present in Town Hall. Also present in Town Hall were Treasurer Wendy Mis, Controller/Interim Town Manager Patricia Abbott, Police Chief Steve Scheckel, Fire Chief Mark Hajduk, Town Attorney Dave Westland, Interim Public Works Director Chris Spolnik, and Munster Representative to the Hammond Sanitary District Mike Hawkins was present virtually. School Town of Munster Representative John Castro was not at the meeting. The news media was represented.

PUBLIC COMMENT

The Town of Munster accepts public comments submitted electronically. The public was informed, via the agenda posted at munster.org, that questions or comments about an item on the agenda were to be emailed to wmis@munster.org.

Mr. Mitch Barloga, 1900 Bluebird Lane, encouraged the Commission to do what is right regarding Ridge Road. He reminded the Commission the plan was a labourious effort and expensive. There is time to review and assess the benefit the RAISE grant is to the community.

Commissionor George Shinkan, 9817 Margo, reinforced he is not in favor of three lanes and stated the Town is working to keep the Grant.

Mr. Austen Peach, 1725 Laurel Lane, shared his support of lane reduction on Ridge Road. He encouraged diversity of assets in that region of Munster.

Mr. Hoss Fatemi, 1901 Fisher Street, supported a reduced Ridge Road which would create a calm and safe environment. He feels TIF could be used for signage.

No one else rose to claim the floor.

CONSENT AGENDA

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of the regular meeting on April 15, 2024

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE VOUCHER REGISTERS

Approval of Voucher Register #R24-3I dated 03/31/24 totaling \$1,900,512.80 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-4E dated 04/18/24 totaling \$23,399.94 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-4F dated 04/19/24 totaling \$42,748.11 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-5A dated 05/02/24 totaling \$375.00 Approval of Voucher Register #R24-5B dated 05/09/24 totaling \$2,151.00 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-5C dated 05/03/24 totaling \$4,748.05

Commissioner Shinkan moved, with a second by Commissioner Hofferth, to suspend the rules, waive the readings, and adopt the Consent Agenda as presented. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

APPROVAL OF WARRANTY DEED

The Town Council and the Redevelopment Commission approved the Phase 1A Kenmara Development Agreement at the July 17, 2023, meetings. The agreement includes Kenmara building an access road to the development site. Under the Development Agreement and separate Memorandum of Understanding between Kenmara and NIPSCO, Kenmara will be allowed to construct the road on what is now land owned by NIPSCO. Once all the benchmarks are met, NIPSCO will deed the land to Munster, and the Town will take responsibility for the road. Separate easements will be granted to Kenmara by NIPSCO for this work to be completed.

Currently, Kenmara and NIPSCO are requesting the Town approve the form of the proposed deed. This is not the actual conveyance of the property.

Commissioner Shinkan moved, with a second by Commissioner Hofferth, to approve the form of the Warranty Deed as presented. A brief discussion with clarification was had. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

There	being	no	further	business	to	come	before	the	Commission,	and	upon	a	motion	by
Commissioner	Shinka	ın se	econded	by Comm	issi	ioner G	ardiner,	the	meeting adjour	rned a	at 8:05	p.	m.	

ATTEST:	David B. Nellans, President
Wendy Mis, Executive Secretary	