

**TO:** Town Council

**FROM:** Tom Vander Woude, Planning Director

**DATE:** April 14, 2022

**RE:** Appointment to Unsafe Building Board

\_\_\_\_

The purpose of this memo is to request the appointment of Sharon Mayer to the Town of Munster Unsafe Building Board.

## **Background**

The Town of Munster Municipal Code Article XI Unsafe Building Regulations establishes an Unsafe Building Board (UBB) as the hearing authority to conduct public hearings on orders issued by the Munster Chief Building Inspector under the unsafe building law. The UBB consists of two members of the Board of Zoning Appeals and one non-council member of the Plan Commission.

Plan Commission member Roland Raffin and BZA member Daniel Buksa currently comprise the UBB. Jonathan Petersen had been appointed as the second member from the BZA. Since he stepped down from the BZA earlier this year, there is a vacancy on the UBB for a BZA member. After discussion at the April 12, 2022 BZA meeting, Sharon Mayer has volunteered to serve as the second BZA member.

According to IC 36-7-9-2, the legislative body of a town designates the person or persons that comprise the hearing authority.

## Recommendation

Motion to appoint Sharon Mayer as a member of the Unsafe Building Board representing the Board of Zoning Appeals.