| To:      | President and Members of the Munster Town Council |
|----------|---|
| From:    | Wendy Mis, IAMC, Clerk-Treasurer                  |
| Copy to: | Dustin C. Anderson, Town Manager                  |
| Date:    | December 17, 2020                                 |
| Re:      | Appointments to Boards and Commissions for 2021   |

As we approach the end of the year, the Town Council should consider making appointments or reappointments for positions that will expire December 31, 2020. All individuals with expiring terms were contacted and each expressed a desire to continue serving on their appointed board <u>except for Lynn Eplawy on the RDA Transit</u> <u>Development District Steering Committee</u> which is a one-year term.

To guide the members of the Town Council during consideration of new or renewed appointments, the following is a recital of each incumbent whose term will soon expire.

**Redevelopment Commission:** Appointment to the Redevelopment Commission is always for a one-year term ending December 31, 2020. The Town Council President, by his/her order, appoints three members to the Commission, and the Town Council, acting as a whole, appoints two members to the Commission. Historically, the five members of the Town Council are the five members of the Redevelopment Commission.

Plan Commission: No action needed.

**Board of Zoning Appeals:** The term of **Roland Raffin** (D) will expire December 31, 2020. He was appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals on August 20, 2018 to complete the term of Michael Mellon upon his resignation and was appointed to the Plan Commission by the Town Council as a whole on March 12, 2007. As a quasi-judicial body, the BZA is not required to be politically balanced. Members serve four-year terms.

**Board of Safety:** The three-year term of **Michael Clark** (R) will expire at the end of 2020. Mr. Clark was initially appointed to the Board of Safety on February 3, 2003. The three-year term of **Linda Dunn** (D) will expire at the end of 2020. Mrs. Dunn was initially appointed to the Board of Safety on January 12, 2015. The Board of Safety must be politically balanced, meaning that no more than three of the five members may be of the same political affiliation. There are now three Republicans and two Democrats on the Board of Safety. Members serve three-year terms.

**Park Board:** The term of **Michael Sowards** (D) will expire on December 31, 2020. The Park Board must be politically balanced, meaning that no more than two of the four members may be of the same political party; the fifth member is the nominee of the School Board and political affiliation is not a concern. There are now two Republicans and two Democrats on the Park Board. Mr. Sowards was initially appointed on December 22, 2014. Members serve four-year terms.

**Economic Development Commission:** A vacancy on the EDC was created when David R. Schneider resigned to relocate to another state. The Lake County Council has been requested to nominate a replacement for Mr. Schneider. Upon receipt of the nomination, the Munster Town Council President, if he/she agrees with the nomination, will make an appointment to fill the unexpired portion of Mr. Schneider's term which would otherwise expire January 31, 2022.

**RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee:** On October 2, 2017, the Town Council President appointed **Lynn H. Eplawy** as Munster's representative to the newly formed RDA Steering Committee. Each appointment is for a one-year term. Her current term expires December 31, 2020. <u>Ms. Eplawy does not seek to be reappointed</u>.

**Hammond Sanitary District:** On October 27, 2016, the Town Council President appointed **Michael Hawkins** as Munster's representative to the Hammond Sanitary District. Each appointment is for a four-year term. His current term expires December 31, 2020.

**Other appointments:** The Town Council President will name liaisons to the various boards and commissions and make appointments as deemed necessary. By statute, the Town Council President is also the Police Pension Board President, with a president *pro tempore* elected by the Board. These positions are recited for the record as "portfolio assignments."

## **RECOMMENDED ACTION:**

No action is required at this time. This memorandum is for informational purposes only.